Skip to content

One small change March round up and April challenges

April 1, 2010

I have finally done the swiffer cosy!!! Hurrah!!! Instead of knitting one the Freeform CAL taught me a few new stitches so I decided to have a go a crotcheting one and here it is!!!

The Pattern:  Using a 5mm or 5.5mm hook and some chunky scraps of yarn…..

Foundation chain:  Chain  42

1st row: UK Treble crotchet into 3rd chain from hook and treble to end.

US Double Crotchet into 3rd chain from hook and double crotchet to end.

2nd row: UK – Chain 3 Treble crotchet around the front post of next 2 trebles (creating a raised stitch) *treble crotchet round the back post of next 3 trebles, treble crotchet round the front post of next three trebles repeat from * to end

US – Chain 3 Double crotchet around the front post of next 2 double crotchets (creating a raised stitch) *double crotchet round the back post of next 3 doubles (creating a relief stitch), double crotchet round the front post of next three doubles repeat from * to end

3rd row: Repeat the second row in opposition to the stitches above so if your stitches are reliefed treble/double crotchet round the front post and if the stitches are raised treble/double crotchet round the back post.

Repeat rows 2 and 3 twice more, bind off.

Attach alternate colour yarn to the long side of your swiffer cosy and UK double crotchet in every treble US single crotchet in every double. UK double crotchet for 4 more rows.  US single crotchet for 4 more rows.  Bind off.

Repeat this for the other long side.

Attach the Yarn 10 stitches in on the long side and chain 30, bind off.  This creates the ties for attaching the cosy to the swiffer.  Repeat this for all four corners.

Weave in ends and away you go an environmentally friendlywashable swiffer cosy, that stash busts the odds and ends and means no more silly duster things zooming off to landfills everywhere!!

Composting is still going well and so is the reusing of carrier bags…..

Well added to that my green tent is going really well (see Signs of life posting) and more seeds have been planted out in there in the last few days despite the hideous rain snow and everything else the weather has chucked this way and despite illness on my part (Ahhhh….. the joy of teaching and stop and drop syndrome!!) I have spared you the photographs of the blank compost and will update when  there are signs of growth and they are planted out into their spots or containers in the bog that is currently my clay soiled garden!!!

Right Challenge for April…… hummmmm well I want to keep going with the seed planting and the composter needs turning out so I can get to the yummy goodness at the bottom and the beds then need weeding and mulching and then when the new plants are planted out I’m gonna add bark chips to help retain moisture over the summer but that probably wont need to happen till May…. so that can wait for next months challenge!

Drying clothes….. starting to use the line when possible between the April showers and using the indoor drying racks and forgoing the use of the tumble dryer completely I think will have to be it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 5:09 pm

    Hi, sounds like your going to have fun these Easter holidays 😀 I loved what you did with you freeform. I’ve just blogged about mine too and tweeted it 😀 I love how we can share our ravelry page with everyone!

    After looking at your Etsy page I just had to register with them and get those floral stitch markers. They look like they can be used for crochet as well as knitting. They just looked soo pretty, I had to have them.
    Your going to get me addictied to Etsy buying, I know you are 😀

    Happy Hooking

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 1, 2010 5:41 pm

      Well the lovely stitch markers are heading your way in the post!! shipped them this morning!! Now I gotta tell Jen they’ve gone lol!! Oooh soo going to check out your freeform now!!! I’ve really enjoyed freeforming and need to finally finish mine off having not done the last few days instructions cos of being in bed ill grrr…. Addicted to Etsy buying well you need to check out King Becky and even more Chopped tomatoes some amazing yarns!!! and Mach’s patterns are lush too!!

  2. April 1, 2010 6:05 pm

    I will certainly check all those wonderful sellers out now. 😀 Lol! I think your feeding the addiction 😀 I love it!!!

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 2, 2010 4:08 pm

      Its all very addictive!!! Yay!!! My yarn stash is scary at the moment and Wonderwool is at the end of the month!!! oops!!!

  3. December 11, 2013 6:45 pm

    Hello! I came across this pattern just love it! I am the editor of AllFreeCrochet.com and would love to feature your tutorial on my site with full credit to you. I know my readers would love it as well, and in return would generate some nice traffic to your site. If you agree and would like us to feature your project, our readers will simply click the link to your blog to get your full tutorial. It’s really that simple. Please let me know if this would be ok. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Jenny
    Jbenoit@primecp.com

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      April 25, 2014 1:23 pm

      Hiya feel free to feature the pattern!

Leave a comment