Skip to content

Fleeces everywhere!!!

January 10, 2013

A while ago Mr J and I had a rather harem scarem drive out to Monmouth to collect some fleeces from a farm up the top of a hill with a very precarious track leading up to it!!! My poor golf is all I can say!!!

Well I have now started to prep the fleece for spinning!! I have a variety of Texel, Herdwick and generic sheep that’s the ladies called Shaun!! Still have not quite worked out what they are!!! But hey ho!

So stinky fleeces came out of the storage bags and I began the prep process!!!

20130104-132700.jpg

This is one of the Herdwick fleeces probably given its original size (this is only one third) the ram called Ramses!! Who is rather a large chap!!! I had to wash it in thirds to fit it comfortably in!!

I picked through them on a tarp in the garage and then…. Using Hot water and a lot of detergent into the buckets they went to soak!! I have found the garden buckets are fab for the washing out process!!! Including making it easy to lift the bucket about and the flexible bucketness makes it easier to pour away the many water!!

20130104-132807.jpg

20130104-132815.jpg

They allow plenty of room to gently press the fleeces into the hot water to soak, as you MUST NOT agitate the fleece too much or they will felt beautifully!!! Not what you want if you then want to card and use the fleece for spinning!!

I then got the fleece into a washing bag given to me by my gran who felt I should have one for washing underwear in!!! (Not used it ever!!) and I hung the fleece in the garden to mostly drip dry before transferring it to the bathroom on a rack to finish drying!!!

Heres hoping it dries quickly!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaxom permalink
    January 10, 2013 3:17 pm

    Only washed fleece once and it was a bit of a ‘mare’. It will be interesting to find out how the fibres spin up.

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      January 13, 2013 1:37 pm

      I’ve gotta spin up the merino on my wheel first before I get to try it….. Why did I start 250gms of merino at the start of term when I knew I’d be carding up washed fleece!!!

Leave a Reply

