Skip to content

Crab Cloches!

January 7, 2013

I subscribe to a number of magazines re knitting crochet and general craftiness one of which is called Mollie makes and recently it’s had some fab patterns in!!! One of which I made a set of matching hats for my sister and my niece for Christmas!!

I used the wool specified in the pattern which is bizarre for me!!! Rowan Creative worsted yarn in the red and then downsized the pattern for my niece and knitted the normal one for my sister!!

Et voila!!!!

20130104-125645.jpg

20130104-125651.jpg

They are rather lovely!!!
I used some 60 60 eyes and Mr J cut the backs off before I oversewed a small piece of felt on the back so the roughened edges didn’t scratch!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Munira Chandoo permalink
    March 11, 2013 1:23 pm

    Love your hat, especially the small version.I’m trying to make the same but I’m struggling with the claws, specifically the i-cord part. How do you put the stitches from the holders onto a needle (ie. In what order?) and which way do you start knitting the i-cord? Probably obvious, but if anyone can help I’d be grateful. X

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      March 11, 2013 5:46 pm

      Hiya thanks!!! for the icord bit I just slipped the stitches onto a dpn and with right side facing just knit across them slid them back and knit agin pulling first stitch a bit tighter it came out fine in the end but was a wee bit fiddly and I did worry about having a laddered icord but was all fine!! Hoe this helps!!

      • Munira Chandoo permalink
        March 11, 2013 10:18 pm

        Thanks so much for your help, think I’ve managed it now. Hope it turns out as good as yours when it’s finished. Happy crafting! X

Leave a Reply

