Skip to content

Update on Fresh Beginnings…January

January 31, 2012

At the Beginning of 2012 I wrote this post and I have decided to intermittently on maybe monthly, to make updates to this post as a kind of accountability/gauge for progress….

1. Read more and write more

I plan to read two books a month, which I have achieved this month, as for write more I’m blogging regularly and am going to start spending more time writing on other projects….

2. Travel more….

I have managed to get out to three places this month one new and two infrequently visited places (Cwmcarn and The pumping Station)

3.  Take more photographs

I am making a conscious effort to take a camera out with me to as many places as possible… one of my fave photos this month…

4. Knit for ME!!

This month whilst I have knitted for others I have also completed some projects for me and my home and made some serious progress on the Blue blanket!!

5. Complete at least 6 things on my Bucket list

This month one thing is ticked off as I have adopted an elephant!! Emily Kate an African Elephant via Born Free

6. Be in Vibrant health!!!

I’m moving towards my 5 day well and seem to get there most days… I’ve taken on board the 23.5hours principle and am using the Wii (Biggest Loser game?zumba game) to do some workouts and some zumba for at least half an hour day.  I have also been on some long hikes/walks with the dog and started doing my yoga DVDs again. I have been using My Net Diary app to log my calories in and out.  I have also lost a total of 5.6 lbs so far since 1st Jan!!! Hurrah!!! (weigh in was Friday 27th)  February is the month I restart Running using the Ease into 5K app and I’m quite excited about this!!  So far I’m feeling good!! though I do wish the weight would come off quicker!!

7. Continue to grow more, process more and give more…..

I need to rack some blackberry wine now and I’m thinking of making some peach wine and I have managed a small garden harvest even in the winter!!!

8. Build an emergency fund (this is getting there) and clear the last of the debts

Hurrah ding dong the credit card is gone!!!! and thanks to an inheritance I have savings!!!!! so now to divert the credit card monthly payments into a savings account and work towards killing off the car payments, but I intend to do this by saving until I have  enough to pay it off so an emergency fund is always in place now!!! phew!!!

9. Do one thing for a charity each month

I’ve adopted an Elephant!!!!

10. Gain a work/life balance ….

I have enjoyed January No Markets month and exercising has made sure that I am leaving work on time more regularly…. but the extraneous activity still needs to be reduced!!!

So all in all pleased with January!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 10:41 am

    Well done, Ellie! 😀

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      February 4, 2012 2:49 pm

      Thank you!!! x

  2. Caroline V permalink
    February 2, 2012 10:44 am

    Well done I am really impressed with your lists – maybe I should do one of my own:-)

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      February 4, 2012 2:49 pm

      I am a master of lists though I have to be careful not to spend all my time making them and not actually getting on with stuff!!

Leave a Reply

