Skip to content

All about the Garden!

March 9, 2011

On the weekend I had a productive day out in the garden clearing out some of the gunk from the pot trays and digging holes….. well more precisely a trench!!

The bottom corner of my garden every year turns into a swamp, then a lake….. then come spring I need to reseed the grass because it all drowned in the winter!! grrr Well no more I decided so I went to the garden centre and bought myself a heap of gravel (much to the disgust of my poor car’s suspension!!) then I dug a gravel trench in the the offending corner.  It was only about 2 foot deep, but a metre wide by a metre and a half long (cunningly big enough for the cold frame I also splurged on at the garden centre)

and Ta da!!!

a gravel trench topped with new cold frame which now contains my new planter which I had for Christmas and the new planter contains a wadge of earth and now some carrot seeds!!! Yay!!!

I then went on helped by my able assistant to recover my green tent whose cover ripped in the winds last month, now in new sealed green tent are parnip seeds set in pots to grow and onions!!! Yay!!

All new and shiny!!

I have also pulled up some of my first ever homegrown leeks and am mightily impressed!! all of them have a reasonable diameter and dont look like spring onions!! here are the ones I left in the ground (where they are allowed to stay till May if needs be!)

Oooo and its definately Spring the Forsythia is coming into bloom!!! I love this plant up there with Tulips for my favourites!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 6:15 pm

    What I nice space! I have some garlic, onions, and spinach poking up through the soil right now. I’ll be planting some cabbage this weekend!

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      March 11, 2011 6:24 pm

      Great!!! I’m waiting now until the end of the month to plant some more seeds want to be more certain on the frosts having gone first!!!

Leave a Reply

