Skip to content

But I’m not a cat-person!

January 24, 2011

This is following a conversation about cats and dogs and cat people and dog people…..

I say and have always said that I am a DOG person…..  How come I’ve ended up with 3 cats and only one dog then…..

Discussing this with Jen, the conclusion was drawn that actually whilst I’m not the cat person, my Polly-dog is!!!!

I have a dog who is a Cat-person/cat lover whatever the term maybe!! If indeed one exists!!

My first cat Frodo was immediately adopted by Polly as her baby.  She chastised him when he was naughty (hence I think how he is lit trained and why he is the least of the stair clawers!!)  He was allowed to sleep in her bed with her or on her…. He cleans her she generally pounces on him knocks him flying etc etc etc…

The second cat appearing on the scene was an older cat Marmalade… I first met him on my walks round the neighbourhood where I had my flat. He used to follow Polly and I on all our walks about 2-3 metres behind us if we stopped for anything he’d catch up and rub his head on Polly purring, but run if I got near (needless to say he now far more chilled out and is one of the first to jump on the sofa next to me for a cwtch.  Marmalade also cleans Polly the  moment she lays done on the lounge floor he’s there licking her head!

Parker…. Now when he appeared the house became a war zone between the three cats… Marmalade getting elderly was starting to think about Frodo becoming top cat, but then on seeing Parker reasserted his status… Frodo became generally annoyed at the world, but parker and Polly became fast friends, because he had a playful nature and whilst the two older cats had become more chilled and lazy, Polly, despite her age, still wanted to play, which Parker and her did/do frequently!!  he also cleans her and when ever he enters the room makes sure he rubs his head on her before even entertaining the idea of seeking cwtches off the humans in the room!!

So there we have I may not be the cat person, but why do I have so many cats, because I have a dog who is!!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Vaughnde Edwards permalink
    January 24, 2011 4:28 pm

    I actually like both but primarily am a dog person. Right now I cannot afford any pets at all so don’t have any. Someday I will need a hearing dog and when I do get one then I’ll have one. At the moment my biggest concern is the two legged variety…namely my grandson who lives with me.

  2. January 31, 2011 11:57 pm

    I’m so a cat person, yours are adorable! Dogs I really need to get to know personally first, but I love cats. (Your dog looks friendly though, and if he’s a cat person, he sounds like my kind of dog.)

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      February 1, 2011 7:26 pm

      She’s VERY friendly!! lick you to death type!! she is calming down considerably in her old age tho!!

      • February 3, 2011 10:18 am

        Oops, didn’t pay attention to the pronouns there and got mixed up with the names – sorry, Polly, it’s SHE of course 🙂

      • elliefantsdelights permalink*
        February 3, 2011 5:58 pm

        No worries she responded to “oi dog” today!! thanks to one of my class!!

Leave a Reply

