Skip to content

Music!!!

January 22, 2011

I ventured into my attic the other weekend to retrieve my Clarinet and my Tenor Saxophone!!  I played A LOT in school and then when I went to uni it went by the wayside and eventually the lovely instruments found themselves being pushed up into the attic….  Well no longer!! I brought them down!!

I literally took me about 2 days to dare to open the boxes and see what state they were…. I vaguely remebered cleaning them properly and oiling bits and bobs pre stuffing them into the attic, but…..  Well when I eventually opened the boxes I was pleased they still look beautiful!!

Last Sunday I sat down to play the clarinet for a whole hour and was overjoyed to find I can remember a lot of my music pieces and the notes!!!  This was as long as I did not think about the music and what was written too much and just went with the flow!!!  The moment my concious brain kicked in this was when the music went a bit to pot!!!

I think I have much more practice to do before my clarinet makes it public again, but I’m pleased I’ve gotte over the mental hurdle of trying to play it again!!  The thought of all the money on music lessons and all the time practising etc etc and the fear I had forgotten it all got a little overwhelming!!!

Now the next hurdle is to try and play the tenor saxophone (I’m a little more trepidacious about this one as I did not play it for as long!!!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 6:28 pm

    Way to go, Ellie! It’s gonna be awesome. 🙂

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      January 22, 2011 6:31 pm

      Permit me a small eeek!!!
      lol I really need to practice though….. decided to devote time each Sunday in term time to practice!!

  2. Vaughnde Edwards permalink
    January 23, 2011 7:10 am

    Fantabulous! My sister and brother both played the Clairnet. I played Bongos 🙂

  3. January 31, 2011 11:55 pm

    That’s great! I still haven’t had the courage to pick up my classic guitar again… way to go!

Leave a Reply

