Skip to content

Fresh Beginnings

January 5, 2011

New year always makes me more introspective and I look at my last year and think mmmmm what to do differently this year…. do I make resolutions?? do I set myself challenges??? where do I want to be this time next year???

Last year I set myself some challenges and some I managed to complete:

1. grow some of my own food

2. compost

3. use reusable carriers

4. line dry my clothes

5. reduce/be more aware of my energy consumption

6. handmake as many gifts as possible

 

then there were some that never took flight…..

1. lose weight (mmmm despite some ups and downs I ended the year only a few pounds lighter than I started it!!)

2. exercise more… (I tried various little things but never really stuck any out)

 

So….

This year…..

mmmmm…..

 

I plan to keep up the changes/challenges I achieved last year….. re: the gardening, composting and general eco/environmental friendliness and then I shall add a few….

1. I am starting running and intend to get to a place where I can run 5k in 30 minutes without wheezing, whining and generally looking like a swollen raspberry!! (this will be both exercise and weight loss plans for this year)

2. I intend to get rid of all my UFO’s (unfinished objects) in my craft stash!

3. I have clarinet and tenor saxophone in the attic of all places I intend getting them out playing them again (I was once quite good) and if all goes well I will be joining a band (if they’ll have me!!)

4. I will make a concious effort to eat a more balanced diet

5.  I will find more time to read (both fiction and non fiction)

 

So bring it on 2011!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 10:38 am

    Those are great resolutions, Ellie. I didn’t you could play clarinet and tenor sax — wow, that’s seriously cool.

    • elliefantsdelights permalink*
      January 10, 2011 6:06 pm

      Yep I played both LOADS in school not so much since moving to the house though but they are now out of the attic and I’m kinda scared to open the boxes to see how tarnished and yuck they and indeed if I have any reeds!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Rounding off 2011….. « Elliefants Delights

Leave a Reply

