Skip to content

The Road to Earlier Mornings – Kaizen….

September 28, 2010

After reading a blog post from one of my subscriptions on Google reader from Simple Mom I have been inspired to approach one or two goals using the principles of Kaizen (the translation of kai (“change”) zen (“good”) is “improvement”).

Kaizen, acoording to the wonderful Wikipedia is

“A continuous improvement process,” which ” is an ongoing effort to improve products, services, or processes. These efforts can seek “incremental” improvement over time……”

and is mainly used in the commercial/business sectors to improve management and production etc.  However Tsh over at Simple Mom suggested that this Kaizen theory could also be applied to habit change….

Mmmmm thought I what habits do i want to change…..

Eating less chocolate and junk…..

well I could do with more time in the mornings to prepare my meals and snacks for the school day…..

so that involves getting up a wee bit earlier than my normal 7 am considering I also have animals and their lit trays to sort, myself to shower and dress, stuff to put together for the day and then getting to school by 8:15….

I want to read more non-fiction, in fact a daily 30 minutes could aid my relaxation etc etc and also it boosts my knowledge and understanding of the world, which I strongly feel makes me a better person and a better teaching practitioner…..  (also see my non fiction challenge postings)

I also want to increase my weekly exercise levels until i am doing 30 minuyes a day at least (and yes this includes taking the dog out, gardening etc etc….)

so with these in mind I pondered on Tsh’s post and the following excerpts from Wiki…..

  • The core principle is the (self) reflection of processes. (Feedback)
  • The purpose is the identification, reduction, and elimination of suboptimal processes. (Efficiency)
  • The emphasis is on incremental, continuous steps rather than giant leaps. (Evolution)

and also that the key features of Kaizen are that:

  • Improvements are based on many, small changes rather than radical changes
  • Small improvements are less likely to require major investment than major process change

So over the past couple of weeks I have been making a concerted effort to be at least in bed by about 11:30 11 where possible…. and each week I am setting my alarm a minute or two earlier in the hope that by 3/4s of the way through the term 6:3o won’t seem so early and I’ll be able to make increasingly healthy lunches and snacks for my school day rather than a hastily chucked together cheese sarnie!!! and a bag of crisps!!!

I then intend using the first 30 minutes after I get home to actually sit and read and unwind from the day ( this also invloves me leaving work on time, as otherwise I feel pressured to “get on with things” at home and won’t take the time out…. because I have laundry to do….. recycling to put out, photos to upload….. veg to harvest and cook…. etc etc the list is pretty much endless!!!

As for working exercise in…… well I’m more active in school thanks to the tribe in my classroom this year and their absconsive habits!! but also I am starting with weekends and Friday evenings and making time for a walk or time to do some gardening…..Making it little often and free so no big promises to myself and an expensive gym membership!!!

……….and we’ll see how a small but continuous change affects, and hopefully improves, my life for the next few months!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

