Skip to content

Teatowels and Kit Bags

August 31, 2010

This year I have decided to beef up my class’s self sufficiency teaching and I am going to carry out personal hygiene sessions with them each day (No more smelly teens!!!) and also I am going to ask each pupil to bring in PE kit to keep in school and gardening/art clothing that they themselves will wash, dry, iron etc as required!!!Hurrah!!!  So I decided it may be a good idea to stash bust some of my fabric into wash bags and kit bags for them, using a free pattern guide from Hobbycraft

I made a total of 18 and now just need to get some strong cord to thread through the tops as I don’t think wool will cut the mustard with my ASD teens!!!

I then still hadn’t had enough of my sewing machine so decided to edge round some of my fat quarters of gingham to make some new tea towels for my kitchen as the old ones are getting a bit grey and old looking!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 2:05 pm

    Great Idea! Pick up some nice clothesline Cord at your local hardware store and that will go a long way with the bags 🙂

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      August 31, 2010 8:22 pm

      Thanks!! I managed to get some hardy chunky string stuff figured that would do for now as I did not want to spend a fortune!! especially given the kids difficulties with behaviour and destructive tendencies!!

Leave a Reply

