Skip to content

Red Onion Marmalade

August 20, 2010

Upon leafing through my recipe books to decide what to do with the apples I received from my mother I found a recipe for Red Onion Marmalade. I decided to give it a go, even though I did not quite have all the ingredients!! oops, but I had reasonable substitutes and it tastes good!!!

Ingredients:

1kg of red onions peeled and finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic peeled and finely chopped

dash of olive oil

salt and pepper

1 tsp of allspice

350 ml of white wine vinegar

100g of brown sugar

juice of one lemon

350 ml of red wine

Good helping of red currant jelly or the like!! I tend to just lob the whole small jar in!!

Method:

1. put onions olive oil and garlic in pan and heat until onions are glossy

2. add sugar and allspice and heat over a gentle heat stirring frequently for one hour

3. bring to boil, and boil for 5 minutes until contents of pan take on mahogany colour

4. add white wine vinegar, red wine, lemon juice and jelly to pan and continue to boil until thick. you will need to stir this regularly to ensure it does not stick to the pan.

5. jar up into sterilized jars and store in the fridge.

Enjoy with burgers etc etc etc Its fab!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 4:36 pm

    I forgot to ask the other day – how long would this keep? And does it need to be in the fridge from the get go or just after it’s opened? xx

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      August 22, 2010 5:00 pm

      fridge from get go unless you seal the jars in a boiling pan jobbie….. ummmm keeps wise thinks its 3 months maybe more!!! I’d wait if you wanna make some for xmas presents!

  2. August 22, 2010 5:02 pm

    As that is what I was thinking, I’ll wait! Ta!

Leave a Reply

