Skip to content

Blackberry and Apple Jam

August 16, 2010

Last week I went blackberry picking and managed about 2.5 lbs before I was bored/fed up of being scratched bitten etc!!  So I wandered home as I was sans car thanks to all the suspension going on me!!! and decided to use up some of the apples in the fridge to make blackberry and apple jam!

Recipe:

Ingredients:

2.5 lbs of blackberries washed

0.5 lbs apples peeled and cored and chopped roughly

3 lbs of jam sugar

lemon juice splodge

1/2 pint of water

method:

I popped all the ingredients in the pan brought to the boil and then simmered for a while to allow the apple to stew,

then boiled like mad until the 223 temp reached and set point!! before jarring up into sterilized jars and leaving to cool

Yum!!

I am really pleased with my jam haul this year and intend blackberry picking again soon to make blackberry wine mmmmmm……

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

