Skip to content

Non-Fiction Five Challenge

June 6, 2010

After some inspiration from one of my Google Reader items I have caught up on today I have decided to wade into my wealth of non-fiction books andtake on the Non Fiction Five Challenge.


The Rules


1. Read 5 non-fiction books during the months of May – September, 2010

2. Read at least one non-fiction book that is different from your other choices (i.e.: 4 memoirs and 1 self-help)

After noticing exactly how many unread non-fiction books I have on my shelving…… I narrowed it down to the required five

So my choices at the moment are:

David Fontana – Psychology for Teachers (text book)

Luke Jackson – Freaks Geeks and Asperger Sydrome (user guide for adolescents with Aspergers)

I figure the above two will be useful in my incarnation for the next few years as a teacher of a 16-19 yr old class of pupils with ASD.

Gervase Phinn – The Other Side of the Dale (Autobiography)

Lynne Truss – Eats Shoots and Leaves (an amusing turn on a reference guide to punctuation)

Alistair Horne – The Seven Ages of Paris (Historical non-fiction look at the development of Paris)

and if there is time I shall read The Healing Garden by Sue Minter in the hope that it will inform some of my plantings next year

However I have soooo many tempting titles on my shelving which are to do with history, teaching, the natural world etc that this list may well evolve and change in the next 5 months!!

So off to start Freaks Geeks and Asperger Syndrome!!


Leave a Reply

