Skip to content

2010 RHS Gardening Show in Cardiff

April 18, 2010

Today I have had a fabulous day with Jennie in Cardiff for this year’s RHS gardening show.  I went with the idea to get some more herbs to fill the empty pot after the death of the pineapple mint and a corden apple tree.  I came home with beer and cider, garlic bulbs, lemon mint, chocolate peppermint and borage plants and an RHS membership at a discounted rate!!

We parked by Sofia Gardens and after negotiating the NASA machine of a car parking meter we walked through the park to the show.  It was a glorious day today!

The show itself was amazing and much bigger than Jennie or I anticipated! With Craft stalls, a Farmers Market, two Flower Marquees, a talks stand, a band stand (so a musical accompaniment to lunch was in order) and a flourish of well stocked stalls! (no apple trees though booo hiss!!)

A lovely car which I am told by the lovely Nurserers you may hire to weekend around various interesting places in the UK!

Jennie and I managed to visit every stall, display and even supped a few tasters, completed some questionnaries and horded useful freebies!! I acquired two cloth bags woohoo this supports my one small change from earlier in the year on no plastic bags!! a shower timer to help me reduce my time spent blasting the shower at myself to wake nyself up each morning!

I have also come home with a ton of useful information about setting up a community project in school in association with Tidy Towns.  A coveted RHS membership which will entitle me and friend to access to Gardens free, shows cheaper and get me a yummy garden magazine each month, free seeds and all sorts of other goodies!!!

Jennie I have discovered is also the most amazing picnic companion and I am hoping that the gorgeous Red Pepper and Basil Bread will be appearing on her blog as a recipe soon!!

We gorged on the bread, pringles, my homemade cookies, cheese, grapes, chocolate twists from the farmers market stalls chicken bites and bhajees! Hurrah!!  So yummy I had to take a close up!!

The afternoon session brought more delights including seeing what looked to me like one of the characters from the Dark Crystal – the skeksis….

Not entirely sure what that was all about!!

And there were crafting delights such as metal work abounding!

And some more of the amazing floral displays

All in all a fabulous day, tiring but fabulous and now we are really looking forward to Wonderwool next week and are already planning our picnicing munchies for the day!!

On leaving the park I noticed Cardiff Castle in a completly different light to the morning photo and found some more pretty views on the way back to the car.

See tomorrow’s post for all the beautiful displays and flowers!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 8:45 pm

    WOW Looks like you had a wonderful day and a blast! Our Farmer’s Market here won’t open until May!

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 19, 2010 4:46 pm

      Our Farmers Markets go all year! Very lucky, there are two in Cardiff one on a saturday in Roath and one on a Sunday in Riverside! I can never make the ones in Newport as they always seem to be on a school day!

Leave a Reply

