Skip to content

Knit/Crotchet a square

April 17, 2010

After reading a post by Jelibe about her crotcheting squares for Africa I was inspired!!!  What better way to stash bust leftover yarns than knitting or crotcheting them up for a worthy cause.

So  I have decided to join her in Crotcheting 8 inch squares in an ongoing knit/crotchet along where all the squares are sent to Africa and are sewn together for blankets for orphans.

As it says in the photo the Charity’s goal is to get to 105,000 squares in 2010… so here goes…

If you would like to find out more please click on this link.

OOoooh and there’s a Ravelry Group

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 2:58 pm

    Ooh! I even have a square sitting around from another KAL I neglected to mail in. Thanks for the suggestion of where to send it!

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 18, 2010 4:58 pm

      I’ve asked another “commenter/square knitter” to post the link for her contact who makes blankets for the elderly and those in wheelchairs too!!

  2. April 17, 2010 6:19 pm

    I like your blog and I already follow it on google reader. I’m looking forward to your giveaway but wanted to comment on the blankets for kids for Africa. I think its a wonderful idea. I’m also following another blogger that is accepting squares for her to make into blankets for the elderly in nursing homes and those in wheelchairs and I’m enjoying it. I am working on squares to send to her for that.

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 18, 2010 4:56 pm

      Hurrah!! both to the google reader and the square making!! Whats the link to the other person you are making squares for I would be interested (being that I work with kids in wheelchairs) I could split squares between the two!!
      x

  3. April 18, 2010 5:15 pm

    Here is the link to the blog!

    http://sunshineinternationalblanketsoflove.blogspot.com/

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 18, 2010 7:06 pm

      Fab Thankyou I shall add it to a blog post this week!

  4. April 18, 2010 7:22 pm

    Hmm, could be something I’d be interested in, when it’s hot in the summer and too hot to knit or crochet anything bigger. See my optimism there? For a long, hot summer?!

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      April 19, 2010 4:44 pm

      I love the optimism for a long hot summer!!! Yay!! Bring it on!!!

Leave a Reply

