Skip to content

All Things Gardening and One small Change Update!

February 27, 2010

Having built my greenhouse the other day I felt it was time to get some seeds started and in there so despite the on and off rain I decided to trot out into my garage with all my various seed sacks and compost sacks and trowel and a million and one of the little seed starting pots.

I have organised my seeds according to month of planting so this month I have planted Aubergine, Strawberries, Hanging basket tomatoes, carrots, peppers and a wealth of flowering plants to plant alongside the veg to hopefully draw the insect attention!! including sweet peas, rudbeckia and marigolds.

Whilst in the garden I cheked the health of the Onions that I have planted and we still have some surviving onions but I will start some more off next month as I do not think it will take me long to use the 5 or 6 survivors of the snowy winter we have experienced.

With regards to a One Small Change update I have failed to knit up the swiffer cosy, simply because soooo many people seem to be having babies requiring me to knit up millions of baby sets!!!  BUT the composting has gone brilliantly in fact on opening the lid of my composter to add the contents of my kitchen collector there was a flurry and a scurry of all sorts of small bugs and creatures mainly woodlice etc that I have not seen before.  I think they are liking the new diversity of produce going in like the tea bags and all the stuff produced in the kitchen. soo February seems to be a partial success on the changes front (although growing such a huge diversity of vegetables is a new thing for me as last year it was beetroot and beans lol)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 7:16 pm

    I admire anyone who can grow things successfully! Much to my dismay, I seem to have a black thumb. Good luck with your change 🙂

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      February 28, 2010 3:57 pm

      Well I shall say at this point I am trying!!! lol 😉 I figure it all has a 50 50 chance!!

  2. February 27, 2010 11:49 pm

    So glad to hear the composting went well! I am excited to hear more about your gardening!
    Suzy

    • elliefantsdelights permalink
      February 28, 2010 3:58 pm

      Well here hoping it all grows and I can find space for all the baby plants in the garden/on the patio!! If not the kids will have loads to plant out in their garden patch in school cos that where any spares are headed!

Leave a Reply

